In the Smyrna Town Council election Monday, Tony DeFeo won the at-large seat, while Regina Brown was elected in District 1.

Smyrna voters elected Tony DeFeo and Regina Brown to serve on Smyrna Town Council in this year’s municipal election on Monday, April 26.

DeFeo, who was appointed to a vacant council seat 10 months ago, won a three-way race for an at-large seat with 203 votes, ahead of David Pleasanton (139) and John Rhoades (50).

Brown won Smyrna Council’s District 1 seat with 49 votes, while Patricia Damestoir received 28 votes.

Smyrna Board of Elections chair Marian Bower announced the election results about 23 minutes after the polls closed at 8 p.m. at the Citizens’ Hose Company firehouse.

DeFeo said his experience on council helped him in this year’s election because it gave residents an opportunity to see him in action.

“They got to see what kind of person and what kind of councilman I am,” he said. “I’m very humbled that they came out and supported me in this fashion. I’ll do my best to listen to them and not let them down.”

The fourth time was a charm for Regina Brown, who was unsuccessful in three previous runs for council before winning election this year.

“I’ve worked on committee for three years now and I just feel I’m ready,” she said.

Brown thanked her supporters – both inside District 1 and outside the district.

“There were people who were very committed to my campaign, and I want to thank them very much for that,” she said.

Joining DeFeo and Brown on town council will be Bob Novotny, who was unopposed for a 1-year at-large seat.

DeFeo and Brown were both elected to 3-year terms on council.

Smyrna election results

District 1 seat
Regina Brown            49     63.6 percent
Patricia Damestoir     28     36.4 percent

At-large seat
Tony DeFeo               203    51.8 percent
David Pleasanton     139    35.5 percent
John Rhoades            50     12.8 percent

Number of voters      402
       Machine              387
       Absentee             15

Low voter turnout

Monday’s voter turnout was lower than in recent years.

A total of 402 people voted in this year’s election; 387 went to the polls, and 15 voted by absentee ballot.

Last year, 747 people voted in an election where the mayor’s seat and an at-large council seat were contested.

Just 481 people voted in 2008, but the only contested seats that year were the District 2 council seat and a special election for the District 1 seat. As a result, residents from just two of the town’s three voting districts could vote in the election.

In the 2007 election, 1,556 residents voted. The mayor’s seat, the District 1 council seat and an at-large council seat were all up for election that year.