The Citizens’ Hose Company in Smyrna held their annual Officer Installation and Awards Ceremony on January 2.

The Citizens’ Hose Company in Smyrna held their annual Officer Installation and Awards Ceremony on January 2. The evening included the installation of the 2012 fire lines officers, administrative officers, and the auxiliary. For three members of the Smyrna fire department, it was a night to be honored as the Firefighter of the Year, Fireman of the Year, and School Probational Member awards were named.

Chris Merrill, a member since 1997, was awarded the H. Thomas Tucker Memorial Award for Firefighter of the Year.

John Caldwell Sr., the company’s vice president, was presented with the Calvin E. Foxwell Memorial Award for Fireman of the Year.

Kyle Lewis, a member of less than a year, was awarded the William T. Lewis Memorial Award for outstanding School Probational Member of the year.

2012 officers

The new officers for the year were announced on Jan. 2.

The 2012 fire line are as follows: Isaac Willis, fire chief; Isaac Hankins, 1st assistant chief; Jay Pappas, 2nd assistant chief; Brian Jarrell, captain; Easley Pierson Jr., captain; Jonathan Rutledge, lieutenant; Jason Hansen, lieutenant; Eric Winter, lieutenant; Michael Everett Jr., lieutenant; Jeffrey Fletcher, chief’s aid; Dean Johnson, chief engineer; David Williams, engineer; David Hufford Jr., engineer; Robert Daniels, engineer; Kenneth Spencer, engineer; Bruce Ballard, fire police; Tom Bowers, fire police; Richard Schwalb, fire police; Al Lenox, fire police; Robert Lightcap, fire police; Eugene Tucker, public information officer; Eric Neeld, medical supply officer; and Nick Reed, supply officer.

The 2012 administrative officers are as follows: Chris Hudson, president; John Caldwell Sr., vice president; Kenneth Steele, secretary; T. Blake Bowers, treasurer; John Morgan, trustee; Kenneth Steele, fire recorder; Ralph Jones, historian; Chris Hudson, director; Isaac Willis, director; Kenneth Steele, director; T. Blake Bowers, director, James Blanchfield Jr., director; John Caldwell Sr., director; Tate Coulborne, director; Bruce Ennis, director; Gerald J. Mood, director; Grant Nash, director; Alan F. Robinson, director; and Anthony B. Payne, director.

The 2012 auxiliary officers are as follows: Mike O’Malley, president; Debbie Bowers, vice president; Catherine Simon, secretary; Kristy Hankins, treasurer; Bonnie Steele, assistant secretary; Sunday Keen, financial secretary; Billie Jean Knox, assistant financial secretary; and Marie Pierson, assistant treasurer.

Email Jennifer Dailey at