Smyrna-Clayton Pop Warner held their end-of-year awards ceremony on Dec. 2. Awards were given out to all the football players and cheerleaders for their hard work, commitment and dedication to the organization.

Jacob Wandless and Michael Baker were the recipients of the Justin L. Little Memorial Award. Justin L. Little participated in Smyrna-Clayton's Pee Wee and Midget divisions, and made a lasting impression on all who knew him. This award has been given out since 1994 in Justin's memory. Jacob and Michael were chosen by their coaches for this special award because they both showed effort, sportsmanship, and team enthusiasm both on and off the field.

The Henlopen Pop Warner Football League also awards a Midget Football Player for the Casey Lynch Award. Casey Lynch was a 13-year-old quarterback of the 1991 Delmar Midget "Wildcats," who died on the Delmar football field while playing the Woodbridge "Blue Raiders" with 17 seconds left in a 6-6 tie game. Only one Midget player is chosen to receive this award each year in Casey's memory. Every Midget football player in the Henlopen Pop Warner Football League is eligible for this award.

Arthur Ashe was chosen to represent Smyrna-Clayton based on his portfolio. Criteria for this award includes outstanding leadership on the field, in the classroom and in the community along with his above average grades in all subjects, and his respect for his coaches, teachers, classmates and fellow teammates. Each Pop Warner team nominates a player for the award; the winner will be chosen at a later date during a Henlopen Pop Warner awards ceremony.

Smyrna-Clayton Pop Warner would like to thank the Town of Smyrna and the Smyrna School District for the use of their football fields. Pop Warner would also like to congratulate all the players on a great season.