Clayton Fire Company #1, Inc. held their annual Appreciation Banquet Saturday night to not only take a look back at the year but to honor those members that stood out throughout 2012.

A big part of the evening was the announcement of this year's winners of the Steven A. Turner Memorial Award, Firefighter of the Year Award, William R. "Ace" Carrow Award, and the Ladies Auxiliary Member of the Year Award.

Joshua Klingler was given the Steven Turner Memorial Award, also known as the Young Fireman of the Year Award.

William "Skip" Carrow received the Firefighter of the Year Award, who has won the William R. "Ace" Carrow Award aka the Fireman of the Year Award twice.

Robert J. Davis was chosen as the William R. "Ace" Carrow aka Fireman of the Year Award, an award he previously won in 2000.

Nancy Scotton was given the Ladies Auxiliary Member of the Year Award. Scotton is a charter member of the auxiliary.

A few other members were also honored at the banquet including Gene Shaner and Ed Ide, who were named as a new life members, and Wally Hudson, who was honored with the Fire Police Emeritus Award. The fire department also honored a local special needs boy, 17-year-old Louis Jung. Jung, who has always had a fascination with the fire company, was made an honorary member of Clayton Fire Company. Fire Chief Robbie Jones presented Jug with a t-shirt and company pager.

The new officers for the upcoming year also were announced.

The 2013 administrative officers are as follows: Samuel N. Sawyer, president; Gene Shaner, vice president; Harvey W. Scott III, treasurer; W. Stephen Hudson, assistant treasurer; Robert P. Faulkner, secretary; Kenneth A. Virdin Jr., assistant secretary; James J. Hurlock, 1-yr. director; Gary A. Faulkner, 2-yr. director; Cheryl Hurlock, 3-yr. director; James R. Johnson, fire chief; Robert J. Davis, deputy chief; Mike Carroll, company historian/photographer; and Gene Shaner, company historian/photographer.

The 2013 fire line officers are as follows: James R. Johnson, fire chief; Robert J. Davis, deputy chief; Michael S. Lucas, 1st assistant chief; Jeffrey Hurlock, 2nd assistant chief; Alex Carrow, captain; Mike Harrington, captain; Tim Conrad, lieutenant; Dylan Chambers, lieutenant; Noah Williams, fire recorder; Rodney Whalen, safety officer; Roland Timmons, chief engineer; Doug Chillas, EMS; and Elizabeth Evans, EMS training.

The 2013 ladies auxiliary officers are as follows: Georgia Davis, president; Tammy Faulkner, vice president; Margo Orlando, secretary; Carol Davis, assistant secretary; Danielle Lamborn, treasurer; Mary Kelley, assistant treasurer; Sharon Staats, financial secretary; and Peggy Ivory, pension officer.

The 2013 fire police are as follows: John W. Davis Sr., Robert L. Lightcap, Ronald E. Burnett, George R. Ivory, Alan Dutton, and Samuel N. Sawyer.

Email Jennifer Dailey at