The 2013 Clayton Town Council election will see three current council members and one newcomer vie for three open council seats.

Resident Howard Blackstone has joined Mayor Tom Horn, Councilman Alex Dias, and William R. Carrow II as a candidate in the Tuesday, April 30 election. The filing deadline was at 4 p.m. on April 9.

Councilman Robert Lightcap is not running for re-election. After serving three years on council, he has decided to enjoy his retirement.

Lightcap was first appointed to council in 2010; Lightcap and former Councilman Wayne Stover were appointed following the resignations of former mayor Bob Berghorn and former vice mayor Bob McGinnis. Lightcap was then re-elected in 2011.

Blackstone ran in last year's election.

There are three two-year seats up for election this year.

The election will be on Tuesday, April 30 between the hours of 2 and 7 p.m. at the town office.

Voter eligibility is as follows:

Be a bona fide resident of the Town of ClaytonBe a citizen of the United StatesBe at least 18 years of ageIdentification and Proof of Residents is requiredFor more information on voting, go to or call 653-8419.