Mayor Tom Horn and Councilman Alex Dias won their re-election bids in Tuesday's Clayton Town Council election with William "Skip" Carrow taking the third open seat in this year's election.

Carrow had the most votes in the election with 182. He was followed by Horn with 176, Dias with 171, and fourth candidate Howard Blackstone with 103 votes.

There were three two-year seats open in this year's election. Councilman Robert Lightcap chose to not run for another term.

There were 248 total votes in the election, including 10 absentee ballots.

Carrow said he's excited to win a seat on council and he's ready to help.

"It's something I thought about doing for a while. My father was on council so it was something that I wanted to do for a while to follow in his footsteps," Carrow said. "I'm excited to get started. Hopefully I bring some new ideas to council."

Councilman Alex Dias said he's relieved for the election to be over. This will be his second full term on council. He was appointed in 2010 to a one-year term to fill an empty seat. Dias was elected in 2011 to his first full two-year term on council.

"I knew it was going to be a tight race," Dias said after the election results were announced Tuesday night. "Now we can finish up what we started."

With Mayor Tom Horn's re-election, he is now entering his ninth term as a member of council.

"I'm proud that the voters of the Town of Clayton extended their continued support in my choices and as usual it's a pleasure to work for the great Town of Clayton," Horn said. "I look forward to working with the new councilman and thank you all for voting from my heart."

Email Jennifer Dailey at