The Smyrna High School John Bassett Moore Chapter of National Honor Society held its annual induction ceremony on Nov. 13. After months of planning, 59 new inductees were welcomed into the NHS.

After the induction this year, they now have 97 members. In order to be one of the members, the student must be in 11th or 12th grade and have a GPA of 90 percent or higher. If students meet these requirements, they may be invited to apply and given an application.

"The National Honor Society officers and advisors started planning for this ceremony at the end of the school year last year," said NHS advisor Virginia Atkinson.

The ceremony began with a processional and then posting of the Colors by SHS Air Force Junior ROTC. Chapter officers Josh Allison, Morgan Popovich, Chris Deslongchamp, and Kayla Kennedy led the Candle Lighting Ceremony, which followed the welcome by NHS President Lauren Bowser.

Bowser has been a member since Nov. 2012 when she was inducted as a junior. After college she intends to pursue a career as a doctor, specializing in dermatology or obstetrics/gynecology. She became a member of the National Honor Society because of the principles for which is stands: scholarship, leadership, service, and character.

"Each one of those values are characteristics I believe I possess and encompass things I am very passionate about," Bowser said. "I am honored to serve as the president of NHS this year because the organization represents the passion I have for being a person of good character and giving back to those in need within our community. A balance between academics and philanthropy is a hard thing to achieve for anyone, especially a high school student, so being part of an organization that ensures the success of both is a true honor."

The new inductees are as follows: Shanyn Leigh Austin, Heaven Bailey, Caitlin K. Berchtold, Autumn Michelle Birney, Sydney Botsch, Sydney Burgess, Cayla Cassell Carter, Katherine, Elizabeth Clark, Nikki Collier, Dominique DeMoe, Brianna Distler, Katherine Amanda Eichler, Christina Ewins, Amanda Lynn French, Leandra Joselyn Gantzer, Melayna Tiana Hall, Brandon Andrew Harper, Jordan Harrington, Iasia Henry, Liza Holford, Allison Hubert, Gabrielle A. Jones, Elizabeth J. Lewis, Haley Terri Lloyd, Jason Mackey, Julianna Marie Markel, Maurice McFolling-Nichols, Sarah A. McHale, Alyssa Mears, AJ Mitchell, Andrew Morrison, Akeem Norris, Beryl Nyamburi, Adasha Paskins, Hunter Pritt, Tiona D. Ramseur, Emily Sakalauskas, Shelby Segars, Keith Shoun, Nicole Simpson , Laura Elizabeth Smith, Kiana Smith, Emily Sponseller, Stacey Michelle Staley, Alexus Stroud, Elizabeth Marie Stulir, Kyle Tieman, Jazmine A. Tucker, Jacqueline Valladares, Ally Vance, Josephine Algama Veeria, Gabrielle Virdin, Zachary J. Voss, Sierra Watkins, Craig Watson, Alexis Jennifer Williams, Rachel Williams, Caleb Michael Wolf, and Jordan A. Yeomans.