The State of Emergency in Delaware was lifted by Governor Jack Markell at 10 a.m. this morning, along with the Level 1 Driving Warning. All state offices are closed today, during the regular business hours of 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Non-essential state employees are not to report for work during this period, while essential employees should report as scheduled. Government offices in all three counties as well as the cities of Wilmington, Newark, Dover and others across the state also closed today.

Town of Smyrna offices didn't open until 12 p.m. today due to the weather.

Winds will be 15 to 20 miles per hour today with gusts up to 30 miles per hour. Bitterly cold air will go through the area for the remainder of the week and temperatures are not expected to rise above freezing until Saturday. The cold and wind are combining to create dangerous wind chills.

Delaware Department of Transportation (DelDOT) reports that salt is ineffective on roads when temperatures are in the single digits, and crews are working against winds that blow snow back onto cleared roads. Major roads in New Castle and Kent Counties are covered with ice and slush, and the speed limit on I495 and the Roth Bridge (SR 1) is reduced to 45 miles per hour. The snow ended later in Sussex County this morning where roads are wet with light snow and minimal accumulation. Travel will remain hazardous due to snow covered roadways and drifting, and those conditions will continue throughout the day Wednesday. The commute on Wednesday afternoon will be impacted by blowing and drifting snow, especially in open areas.

There were a total of 1,721 power outages across the state, with most occurring this morning when 1,686 Delaware Electric Cooperative customers in Sussex County lost electricity. As of 11 a.m., fewer than 500 customers of Delmarva Power and Delaware Electric Cooperative are without power.

All school districts in Delaware are closed today. Some colleges and universities have posted their status on school websites, with Wilmington University, Goldey-Beacom and Wesley Colleges closed. Delaware Technical and Community College Stanton, Wilmington, Terry and Owens campuses are closed. The University of Delaware opened at noon.