Smyrna High School teacher honored at Smyrna Board of Education meeting tonight.

And the Smyrna School District Teacher of the Year Award goes to...Ryan Buchanan from Smyrna High School!

Buchanan was announced as the winner at the Smyrna Board of Education meeting tonight at the school district central office.

The ceremony started with the Superintendent Debbie Wicks recognizing the Teacher of the Year from each school:

Clayton Elementary - Kate Kleinot,

North Smyrna Elementary - Dianna Ferris,

Smyrna Elementary - Lauren Bundek,

Sunnyside Elementary - Jessica Marston,

Clayton Intermediate - Heather Moyer,

John Bassett Moore Intermediate - Laurie Deisem,

Smyrna Middle - Heather Marr,

Smyrna High - Ryan Buchanan.

Each school's Teacher of the Year was congratulated by the school's principal, and then Wicks announced that Buchanan had been selected as the District Teacher of the Year.