The Delaware Association of Conservation Districts announced the 2016 winners of the districts’ annual conservation poster contest, which featured the theme “We All Need Trees.”

Posters were judged on how well they convey the conservation theme, along with use of color, attention to detail, an easy-to-understand conservation message, originality and creativity. First-, second- and third-place winners in each grade category received a gift card valued at $50, $25 and $15 respectively, from their local Conservation District office. The first-place state winners received $50 from the Delaware Association of Conservation Districts.

New Castle County winners are: Annabelle Wei, grades K-1, William Cooke Elementary School; Labron Pender, grades 2-3, Harry O. Eisenberg Elementary School; Eason Li, grades 4-6, The Independence School; Isabella Lindia, grades 7-9, MOT Charter School; and Sophia Sweetman, grade 10-12, Middletown High School.

Kent County winners are: Sarah Stewart, grades K-1, homeschooled; Mary Watts, grades 4-6, Clayton Intermediate; Mason Samenik, grades 7-9, Smyrna Middle School; and Abrianna Dyer, grades 10-12, Dover High School.

Sussex County winners are: Katelyn Wingate, grades 4-6, Lord Baltimore Elementary School; Dorothy McCormick, grades 7-9, McCarville Academy; and Lauren Thornburg, grades 10-12, Sussex Technical High School.

The state-level winning posters by Annabelle Wei, Labron Pender, Eason Li, Dorothy McCormick and Sophia Sweetman are entered in the national poster contest sponsored by the National Association of Conservation Districts Ladies Auxiliary. National winners will be announced Jan. 29 at the NACD conference in Denver.

Delaware’s poster contest also includes a category for computer generated/graphic arts posters.

New Castle County winners were: first place Hailey Poe, William Penn High School; second place Heidi Hernandez, Delcastle High School; and third place, Benjamin Maldonado, Delcastle High School.

Sussex County winners from Sussex Technical High School were: first place, Brittany Ritter; second place, Samantha Lee; and third place, Kate Bagshaw.