Students statewide gathered Jan. 13 at the Delaware Public Archives to celebrate the winners of the 16th annual Delaware Day Fourth Grade Competition and were recognized for their knowledge of the state’s role in crafting the U.S. Constitution.

Delaware Day is observed each year Dec. 7, the date that Delaware ratified the U.S Constitution and earned its nickname, The First State. This event was scheduled to take place in early December, but was postponed due to inclement weather.

More than 1,100 students from 22 schools were given two months to prepare informative displays illustrating Delaware’s role in the creation and ratification of the Constitution, integrating elements such as artwork, poetry, songs and cartoons. This year’s competition featured 35 separate entries.

Each year, awards are given to schools with the most creative and historically accurate projects. The winners of the competition are:

— George Read Award: Eastside Charter School, Wilmington.

— Gunning Bedford Jr. Award: Keene Elementary School, Christina School District; and Gallaher Elementary School, Christina School District.

— John Dickinson Award: North Dover Elementary School, Capital School District.

— Richard Bassett Award: North Laurel Elementary School, Laurel School District.

— Jacob Broom Award: Epworth Christian School, Laurel; Christ the Teacher Catholic School, Glasgow; Learning Express Academy, Newark; and Wilmington Friends School.

— Artistic Merit Awards: North Laurel Elementary School, Laurel School District; Bunker Hill Elementary School, Appoquinimink School District; Epworth Christian School, Laurel; Gallaher Elementary, Christina School District; and North Dover Elementary School, Capital School District.

For more, visit