Secretary of Education Susan Bunting honored top public school students from the class of 2018 at the annual Secretary of Education Scholars banquet April 24 at Dover Downs Hotel & Casino.

The students’ accomplishments were celebrated by some of the state’s political and education leaders, joined by their families, district superintendents, heads of charter schools and principals. The number of scholars from each school is based on enrollment, and students are selected by their principals based on both their academic records and community service.

The state has named Secretary of Education Scholars every year since 1984.

— Appoquinimink School District: Caelan Brooks, Bright Lu and Evan Rosario, Appoquinimink High School; Rajan Mann, Timothy Mulderrig and Ryan Singh, Middletown High School.

— Brandywine School District: Sylwia Pietrzak and Grace Ruoff, Brandywine High School; Sabrina Jaw and Connor Wagaman, Concord High School; Julia Simmons and Emily Zheng, Mount Pleasant High School.

— Caesar Rodney School District: Nicholas Doak, Jessica Goldschlager and Stephanie Horne, Caesar Rodney High School.

— Capital School District: Adriana Kwok, Hayley Scheir and Katina Thongvong, Dover High School.

— Cape Henlopen School District: Emma Ballentine, Melanie McCloy and Hannah Wiswell, Cape Henlopen High School.

— Christina School District: Jaden Jefferson and Ohenenana Sarfowah, Christiana High School; Carolyn Russell, Delaware School for the Deaf; Brennan Gallamoza and Michael Just, Glasgow High School; Chloe Frantz, Newark High School; and In Jeong Yea, Newark High School.

— Colonial School District: Alanna Armor, Kayla Harmon, Sean Rutor and Krystyn Williams, William Penn High School.

— Delmar School District: Maria Morelli, Delmar High School; and Vasmi Patel, Delmar High School.

— Indian River School District: Delaney Branno and Priya Patel, Indian River High School; Caroline Davis, Sergio Garcia-Gonzalez and Carlynn Rodriguez-Bartolon, Sussex Central High School.

— Lake Forest School District: Amanda Bowman and Kayla Thompson, Lake Forest High School.

Laurel School District: Nyra Giles, Laurel Senior High School; and Thomas Turnbaugh, Laurel Senior High School.

— Milford School District: Kaitlyn Cupelli and Melina Hudson, Milford Senior High School.

— New Castle County Vo-Tech School District: Kelvin Amaya, Yara Cruz-Murillo and Jeffrey Hewes Jr., Delcastle Technical High School; Alyssa Freund and Brianna Pavkovich, Hodgson (Paul M.) Vocational Technical High School; Dayonna Berryhill and Erin Chism, Howard High School of Technology; Danae Baxter and Amanda Merritt, St. Georges Technical High School.

— Polytech School District: Ryan Hesterman and Tyler Imprescia, Polytech High School.

— Red Clay Consolidated School District: Briseida Arreole and Courtlyn Witte, A.I. duPont High School; Michael Hemphill and Sachi Shetty, Cab Calloway School of the Arts; Christina Kim and Ashley Pennington, Charter School of Wilmington; Kathryn Certesio and Russ Smith Delaware Military Academy; Vasista Vovveti and Heather McClure, Conrad Schools of Science; Samra Arshad and Sofia Rose, John Dickinson High School; Marie-Noel Che and Richard Lopez, Thomas McKean High School.

— Seaford School District: Kaitlyn McKinney and Jorge Mendez-Mendoza, Seaford Senior High School.

— Smyrna School District: Samuel Mace, Kaelyn Press and Alec Shalk, Smyrna High School.

— Sussex Tech School District: Kaitlynn Adkins and Kira Short, Sussex Technical High School.

— Woodbridge School District: Yasmine Signey and Aisli Torres-Landeros, Woodbridge High School.

— Charter schools: Andrew Bullock, Delaware Academy of Public Safety and Security; Willow Bowen and Christiana Malone, Early College High School at Delaware State University; Priscilla Gorman, First State Military Academy; Michael Chen and Tanvi Venkatesh, Newark Charter School; Jemma Given, Positive Outcomes Charter School; Mia Kwan, Sussex Academy of Arts and Sciences.