Three years after opening its doors, First State Military Academy, a Marine Corps Jr. ROTC Charter School, graduated its first class of 41 cadets in a ceremony on the Clayton campus Thursday, May 31.

The FSMA Color Guard presented the colors, and the FSMA Choir sang "The Star Spangled Banner."

Pastor Damon Cinaglia of CenterPoint Church gave the invocation.

Opening remarks were presented by Scott Kidner, Chairman of the FSMA Board of Directors, and FSMA Commandant Patrick Gallucci.

The commencement speaker was Col. Robert G. Oltman, USMC (Ret.), National Director, Marine Corps Junior Reserve Officer Training Programs.

Valedictorian Priscilla Gorman and Salutatorian Destiny Marshall addressed their classmates.

The presentation of diplomas was led by Master Sgt. Gregory Byrd, Marine instructor.

The FSMA Choir sang "An Irish Blessing."

Class President Noah Berman led the turning of the tassels.

"This is a moving time for our seniors," said FSMA Commandant Gallucci. "They have endured three years of challenges to be sitting here today. They have worked together to help build a school. There are few out there who can make such a claim. These cadets took a chance on a promise of attending a different school, and they have a profound sense of accomplishment for being the first class to graduate from First State."


C/SSgt. Matthew James Albanese

C/LCpl. Julio Luis Almodovar Jr.

C/PFC. Amber Casey Barthe

C/Cpl. Sebastian De'Andre Battle

C/1st Lt. Noah Henry Berman

C/Sgt. Carmen Rosalind Black

C/Sgt. Jacob William Bobon

C/Cpl. Sean Patrick Carson

C/LCpl. Rachael Lynn Craig

C/Cpl. James Ernest Falcon

C/Sgt. Elycia V. Francisco

C/SSgt. Priscilla Efua Nyarkoa Gorman

C/LCpl. Erica Michelle Graves

C/SSgt. Kallie Nicole Valerie Halliday

C/Cpl. William Hollingsworth IV

C/PFC. Lyndsey Michelle Hurley

C/Cpl. Debra K. Johnson-Hodges

C/Cpl. Mercy Wangui Kamau

C/Cpl. Casandra Lyn Keefer

C/LCpl. James Jordan Kent

C/LCpl. Jonathan Philip Malmstrom

C/GySgt. Vincent J. Mangle

C/1st Lt. Destiny Suzette Marshall

C/2nd Lt. Nathan Dean Massingill

C/PFC. Cashe Rahkaira Storm McKnight

C/Sgt. Juston Rhonale Murray

C/LCpl. James Aaron Pacana

C/LCpl. Dakota Rae Palchik

C/Cpl. Jonathan Matthew Peacock

C/SSgt. Abigail Breanna Petro

C/PFC. Sabine Portalatin

C/LCpl. Sabrina Portalatin

C/2nd Lt. Jeremy Alexander Reynolds

C/Sgt. Jacob Edward Smith

C/LCpl. Christopher Thomas Taylor

C/PFC. Nadica Monique Tompkins

C/LCpl. Hailey Nicole Trover

C/LCpl. Diondre T. Valdez-Anderson

C/Sgt. Jhada Nicole Weeks