Final vote tallies show two incumbents upset in Kent County

Four current and former members of Dover’s city council saw decidedly mixed results in Tuesday night’s election as they tried to move up to or retain higher elected positions.

The biggest surprise of the night was at Kent County Levy Court, where Republican Second District Commissioner James E. Hosfelt Jr. was defeated by Democrat Jeffrey Hall. A former chief of police and city councilman in Dover, Hosfelt came to Levy Court via a special election in 2017.

Hall received 5,240 votes to Hosfelt’s 4,391. He led the vote tally throughout the night.

The election saw current council member Brian E. Lewis run for Kent County sheriff, while David L. Anderson was seeking a seat in the state House of Representatives.

Lewis, running as a Democrat, won election to the sheriff’s job, besting Republican incumbent James Mollohan.

The vote tally was close, with Lewis polling only 933 more votes than Mollohan. The final tally was 29,693 for Lewis and 28,740.

Lewis was elected to council in 2015.

Fourth District Councilman David L. Anderson, who was elected to city council in 2011, lost in his bid to unseat 31st District Representative Sean M. Lynn, himself a former member of Dover’s legislative council.

Lynn received 4,675 votes to Anderson’s 2,464

Here are the final tallies for Kent County Levy Court and row offices:

Recorder of Deeds

D - Betty Lou McKenna -- 31,466 or 53.82%

R - Eugenia Thornton -- 26,990 or 46.18%

Kent County sheriff

D - Brian E. Lewis -- 29,693 or 50.81%

R - Jason Mollohan -- 28,740 or 49.19%

Levy Court Second District

D - Jeffrey Hall -- 5,240, or 54.40%

R - James E. Hosfelt Jr. -- 4,391, or 45.60%

Levy Court at Large

D - Terry Pepper -- 32,677 or 55.68%

R - James Callaway -- 26,003 or 44.32%

Republican Eric Buckson, Fourth District Levy Court, ran unopposed and garnered 7,909 votes

Republican Glen M. Howell, Sixth District Levy Court, ran unopposed and garnered 6,869 votes