The Senate Republican Caucus members recently selected Sen. Gerald Hocker as the new Senate minority leader.

Hocker was first elected to the Senate in 2012 after 10 years in the House of Representatives and previously served as House Minority Whip.

In addition, the Senate Republicans chose Sen. Cathy Cloutier as the new Senate minority whip. Cloutier served one term in the House and was elected to the Senate in 2000. She served as a member of the Joint Finance Committee.

Outgoing Senate Minority Leader Gary Simpson praised the selections.

“I am leaving the caucus in excellent hands,” said Simpson. “Sen. Hocker has been a strong voice in our caucus for years, and he is the right person to lead us forward. And Sen. Cloutier is the perfect balance to Gerald’s leadership, and is highly regarded by her colleagues in the caucus. The future is bright.”

The 150th Legislative Session will begin on Jan. 8, 2019.